top of page

Innovative Recovery- The Faux Ice Bath- Ice Legs

Updated: Oct 29, 2019


Recovery and rest days are vital for avoiding injuries while upping your fitness routine. Rest days allow your bones, muscles and connective tissues to rebuild so you can obtain muscle growth and strength quicker. 


Now, let’s talk cold therapy for recovery! A little over a year ago I had an awful hip flexor strain and during that time I did a lot of research to find out how to heal and naturally manage the everyday pain. A ton of research suggested using cold therapy as a form of healing; I was more than hesitate because I despise being cold and wasn’t sure I would be able to muster up the mental toughness to sit through an ice bath.


***The Fit Wander Woman is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC affiliate program as well as many other affiliate programs. This means I earn money, at no additional cost to you, when readers click through, purchase or sign up for anything through certain links as outlined in the full disclaimer.


There is a local Cryotherapy business where I live that has the Cryotherapy chamber. Cryotherapy treatments are usually performed in a chamber that you are encapsulated in that pushes out freezing cold air onto the body. I tried this before an ice bath since it is only 3 minutes and is supposed to have the same effects. The cold treatments work well and unbelievably fast.  The major downside is it costs between $20-$40 for 3 minutes if you don’t have a recurring monthly membership. 


The cold helped my pain immensely so I continued to go to cryotherapy and started doing at home ice baths for a cheaper alternative. 


Cold therapy has been shown to significantly reduce swelling that causes pain and in reducing inflammation. It also reduces blood flow and nerve activity, which aids in relieving pain and better than most pain medication. Cold therapy has also been proven to reduce delayed muscle soreness onset (DOMS) after a long or hard workout. 


So, now that I have tried all of these treatments all that was left was to try Ice Legs and whoa;  I was impressed. I was provided a pair from Ice Legs to try for myself. First of all, the price is very reasonable if you workout a lot or have achy joints. Each set comes with two sleeves which contain 6 reusable ice packs for each leg. The quality of the sleeve and ice packs are impressive, they are well made and the stitching and material are strong for long durability. 





If you have ever been to a Cryotherapy treatment they use an infrared thermometer to get the temperature of your skin. My husband actually has one since he used to be a mechanic so I asked him to take my temperature before and after my Ice Legs treatment. My skin started at 92 degrees and after my 10 minute treatment was 68 degrees. The treatment was cold but since I didn’t have to submerge my entire body it was much easier to bear. 

My legs felt weightless, like I just finished a massage with the best masseuse. 

For all my cyclist, runners, lifters, I highly recommend this product and it is my promise that I will only post my honest opinion for any products I blog about. Trust me, I don’t have time to be posting lies!! :)


If you are interested in getting a set for yourself, click here , Ice Legs was also generous enough to provide you all with a limited 10% discount for any orders purchased before October 27, 2019. Just enter code thefitwonderwoman at checkout to apply your discount.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page